My life in a nutshell

I have always been told that I am a Chinese-Indonesian. Now I always tell people that I am a Chinese-Indonesian. Indonesians class us as wealthy-business people; People are ignorant. We work hard, my parents work hard. People complain about their busy parents. I call it bullshit. I have never spent a lot of time with my parents. They do their way to raise their children. It doesn’t make them love me less or more. Interaction is two-way perceptions.

I have never had an extravagant dream. I lived my childhood in a closed community: christian-chinese-indonesian. I spent my time on school works. I’m good at math but not at taking bus. I wasn’t capable of dreaming fancy. After highschool, I got into a public university – one of the best in Indonesia. Was I happy? Yes; Was I happy? No. Everyone seemed happy. During my university years I found that life has more to offer. I made friends outside my bubble and expanded my family. I popped my bubble but found myself inside a bigger bubble.

I have never had an extravagant dream. But at that time I wanted to be out from where I lived. I became a realistic dreamer. I had never fought for anything, but I fought for this. Paris chose me. She tempered me for a year. Was I happy? Yes; Was I happy? No; Was I happy? Yes. After Paris, I was back in my hometown. Jakarta was Jakarta but was not Jakarta. I stayed there for a year then Grenoble pitied me.

I have never had an extravagant dream. I am simple. Grenoble is simple. For now, Jakarta is my ex, Paris is my crush, Grenoble is me.

Leave a Reply

